MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE COUNTY COUNCIL HELD BY TEAMS ON THURSDAY, 13 MAY 2021

PRESENT

County Councillor R G Thomas (Chair)

County Councillors MC Alexander, M Barnes, B Baynham, J Berriman, G Breeze, J Charlton, L V Corfield, K W Curry, A W Davies, B Davies, D E Davies, P Davies, S C Davies, M J Dorrance, D O Evans, J Evans, L Fitzpatrick, L George, J Gibson-Watt, M R Harris, S M Hayes, H Hulme, A Jenner, E A Jones, D R Jones, E Jones, G Jones, J R Jones, E M Jones, M J Jones, D Jones-Poston, F H Jump, K Laurie-Parry, H Lewis, K Lewis, P E Lewis, MC Mackenzie, I McIntosh, S McNicholas, DW Meredith, C Mills, JG Morris, R Powell, WD Powell, D R Price, P C Pritchard, G Pugh, J Pugh, G W Ratcliffe, L Rijnenberg, L Roberts, P Roberts, K M Roberts-Jones, E Roderick, D Rowlands, K S Silk, D Selby, L Skilton, D A Thomas, T J Van-Rees, E Vaughan, M Weale, J Wilkinson, A Williams, G I S Williams, D H Williams, J Williams, J M Williams and R Williams

1. ELECTION OF CHAIR

County Councillors Gareth Ratcliffe and Gwynfor Thomas were nominated for the position of Chair of Council. The Monitoring Officer advised that a meeting of group leaders held prior to the annual meeting in November it had been agreed that Councillor Gwynfor Thomas' name could go forward at the next annual meeting. Council could proceed on that basis or it could vote to suspend Standing Orders. It was moved by County Councillor David Meredith and seconded by County Councillor Sandra Davies that Standing Orders be suspended for items 1, 2 and 3 on the agenda. By 43 votes to 23 with 2 abstentions it was

RESOLVED that Standing Orders be suspended for items 1, 2 and 3 agenda.

Following a ballot it was

RESOLVED that County Councillor Gwynfor Thomas be elected Chair for the ensuing year.

2. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR

County Councillors Gareth Ratcliffe and Edwin Roderick were nominated. Following a ballot it was

RESOLVED that County Councillor Gareth Ratcliffe be elected Vice-Chair for the ensuing year.

3. ELECTION OF ASSISTANT VICE-CHAIR

RESOLVED that County Councillor Jon Williams be elected Assistant Vice-Chair for the ensuing year.

4. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from County Councillors Emily Durrant, Gareth Morgan and Sarah Williams.

5. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

All Members had personal, non-prejudicial interests in item 7 Members' Schedule of Remuneration. The Monitoring Officer advised that there was a general dispensation but that Members should complete a declaration of interest form.

6. ALLOCATIONS, ELECTIONS AND APPOINTMENTS REQUIRED TO BE MADE AT THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

Council considered the report of the Head of Legal and Democratic Services on the allocations and appointments to be made to committees and outside bodies.

Politically Balanced Appointments to Council Committees

The recommendation at paragraph 5.3 was moved by County Councillor Jonathan Wilkinson and seconded by County Councillor Rosemarie Harris

RESOLVED	Reason for decision:
	To comply with statutory requirements (including those concerning the need for political balance) and the Council's Constitution in relation to the allocation and appointment of committee seats and Chairs.

Appointment of Councillors to Committees

RESOLVED	Reason for Decision:
Committees in accordance with the wishes of the different	To comply with statutory requirements (including those concerning the need for political balance) and the Council's Constitution in relation to the allocation and appointment of committee seats and Chairs.

Appointment of Chairs of Scrutiny Committees

The recommendation at paragraph 6.5 in the report was moved by County Councillor Gareth Ratcliffe and seconded by County Councillor Edwin Roderick

RESOLVED	Reason for Decision:
To allocate the 3 Scrutiny	To comply with statutory
Committee Chairs to the Political	requirements (including those
Groups as follows:	concerning the need for political
Economy, Residents and	balance) and the Council's
Communities Scrutiny Committee	Constitution in relation to the
 County Councillor Matthew 	allocation and appointment of
Dorrance	committee seats and Chairs.
Health and Care Scrutiny	
Committee – County Councillor	
Amanda Jenner	
Learning and Skills – Scrutiny	
Committee – County Councillor	
Pete Roberts	

Appointment of Chair of Democratic Services Committee

County Councillor Elwyn Vaughan was nominated by County Councillor Ange Williams and seconded by County Councillor Martin Weale.

RESOLVED that County Councillor Elwyn Vaughan be appointed Chair of the Democratic Services Committee for the ensuing year.

Brecon Beacons National Park Authority (BBNPA)

Council was advised that following the election of County Councillor James Evans to the Senedd, the Conservative nomination was County Councillor lain McIntosh. Subject to this change, the nominations set out in paragraph 8.3 of the report were moved by County Councillor Phil Pritchard and seconded by County Councillor Martin Weale.

RESOLVED	Reason for Decision:
To make appointments to the Brecon Beacons National Park Authority in accordance with the nominations of the political groups as set out below:	To make appointments in accordance with statute and the Constitution.
Independent Group County Councillor Michael J. Jones County Councillor Phil Pritchard County Councillor Edwin Roderick	
<u>Welsh Conservatives</u> County Councillor Iain McIntosh	
Welsh Liberal Democrats County Councillor Gareth Ratcliffe	

Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA)

County Councillors Aled Davies, Matthew Dorrance, Rosemarie Harris and Rachel Powell were nominated. Following a ballot it was

RESOLVED that County Councillors Aled Davies, Rosemarie Harris and Rachel Powell be appointed to the WLGA Council.

Welsh Local Government Association Executive Board

County Councillor Rosemarie Harris was nominated by County Councillor Michael Williams and seconded by County Councillor James Evans.

RESOLVED that County Councillor Rosemarie Harris be appointed to the WLGA Executive Board.

7. MEMBERS' SCHEDULE OF REMUNERATION 2021-2022

The Monitoring Officer reminded Members that they had a personal non prejudicial interest in this item but that there was a general dispensation.

Council noted the recommendations of the Independent Remuneration Panel for Wales (IRPW) in respect of the amounts to be paid as Basic Salary, Senior Salary and Civic Salaries. Council was reminded that the Basic Salary was set by the IRPW and must be paid. Council was required to approve the number of Senior salary positions which are remunerated and to approve the publication of the Members Schedule of Remuneration 2021/22.

RESOLVED	Reason for Decision:
That Members:	To take decisions relating to
 (i) approve the recommendation for the allocation of up to 17 (as amended) Senior Salaries as detailed in section 4.11 of the report. (ii) approve the publication of the Members' Schedule of Remuneration based on the report. 	Members' Salaries, Allowances and Expenses in accordance with statute and the annual

County Councillor R G Thomas (Chair)